Visiting Scholars at IURD

This program is intended for faculty members from other universities on sabbatical leave, post-doc researchers and professionals with PhD or other terminal degrees seeking a place to think, write, and reflect. The application process is very competitive, and it is essential that there is a relationship between your interests and the research being conducted at IURD. We ask you to author a publication while in residence; if appropriate, we will publish it as an IURD working paper. We also encourage you to present your work at the IURD Visiting Scholars’ Roundtable. Visiting scholars are to be in residence for no longer than one year.

If your research is not connected to IURD projects, or if you are a PhD student, you will need to apply to one of the departmental visiting scholar programs. Contact the faculty member with whom you wish to affiliate, and ask for guidance in the departmental application process. View our current list of faculty here.

Please see the applications instructions here.

Visiting Scholars Fall 2014

(Alphabetical by last name)

 

Brunella AngeliBrunella Angeli
PhD, Politecnico di Milano
Email:
brunella.angeli@gmail.com
Appointed: 10/15/2013 - 10/15/2014

 

 

Mohammad Mehdi Azizi

Mohammad Mehdi Azizi
Dean of the College of Fine Arts, University of Tehran
Email: mmazizi@ut.ac.ir
Appointed: 9/1/2013-9/1/2014

 

 

Tamer Cetin

Tamer Cetin
Associate Professor, Yildiz Technical University
Email: tamer.cetin@yahoo.com
Appointed: 9/1/2013 - 8/31/2014


 

Alexandra Jayeun Lee

Alexandra Jayeun Lee
PhD candidate in Architecture, The University of Auckland, New Zealand
Email: lee.jayeun@gmail.com
Appointed: 1/1/2014 - 12/21/2014

 

 

Liwen Li

Liwen Li
Postdoctoral Researcher
Email: liwenli@berkeley.edu
Appointed: 9/16/2013 - 9/15/2014

 

 

Dan Lindheim

Dan Lindheim
City Manger of Oakland, CA
Email: dlindheim@comcast.net
Appointed: 2013-2014

 

 

Erick Lopez-Barriga

Erick Lopez-Barriga
Regional Development Planner, Public Policy, Universidad Michoacana, Mexico
Email: elbarriga@gmail.com
Appointed: 7/15/2013 - 7/14/2014

 

 

Chiho Ochiai

Chiho Ochiai
Assistant Professor at Graduate School of Global Environmental Studies, Kyoto University
Email:
ochiai.chiho.2x@kyoto-u.ac.jp
Appointed: 10/1/2013 - 9/30/2014

 

 

Yelda Ozdemirli

Yelda Ozdemirli
Research Fellow, Selcuk University
Email: yeldak@yahoo.com
Appointed: 9/1/2013-9/1/2014

 

 

Zhang Qu

Zhang Qu
PhD Candidate, School of Architecture, Tsinghua University
Email: quzhang.thu@gmail.com
Appointed: 2/1/2014 - 8/30/2014

 

 

Anna-SerraLlobet

Anna Serra Llobet
Intern, Directorate General for the Environment, European Commission
Email: annaserrallobet@gmail.com
Appointed: 10/1/2011 - 9/30/2014

 

 

Kadriye Topcu

Kadriye Topcu
Ph.D., Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Selcuk University, Turkey
Email: ktopcu@berkeley.edu
Appointed: 8/6/2013 - 7/31/2014

 

 

Mehmet Topcu

Mehmet Topcu
Assistant Professor, Department of Urban and Regional Planning, Selcuk University, Turkey
Email: topcu@selcuk.edu.tr
Appointed: 8/6/2013 - 7/31/2014

 

 

Ye YangYe Yang
Doctoral Student
Email: mgyy_007@hotmail.com
Appointed: 9/1/2013 - 8/31/2014

 

 

Haiyi yu

Haiyi Yu
Associate Professor at College of Architecture and Civil Engineering, North China University of Technology, Beijing
Email: haiyiyu@gmail.com
Appointed: 10/1/2013 - 9/30/2014

 

 

 


 

Fall 2013 Visiting Scholars lunch

IURD Visiting Scholars of Fall 2013 gathered for lunch at the UC Berkeley Faculty Club and shared their research topics.